Safely remove USB software for Windows PC

RemoveDrive is a free command-line tool that will help to ensure you don’t lose data when working with USB drives. It lets you safely remove your USB drive, preventing the loss of your data. Before you start using it, you have to set your preferences first. The application runs just as you run your PC’s CMD – it doesn’t have any user interface.

How to setup RemoveDrive:

If you haven’t plugged in your USB drive but eject it via RemoveDrive, there is no need to worry. It would show you a window like an image below: I’ve created different shortcuts for different drive letters, making it very easy for me to eject my USB drive without any problem easily. I would say it is a great utility to remove your USB drive safely, and it even gives you some exposure to coding. Click here to download RemoveDrive.

Do I need to eject USB drives before removing them?

It is always a good idea to remove hardware when it is not in use. If you are copying data that is almost complete, and you pull it out, then it will be incomplete. So no foreground and background operation is going on on the USB driver. You can pull it out anytime, but then using the safe option is always better. For example, I have experienced that if I do not safely eject my SD card and put it in the camera, the camera doesn’t recognize it until I try it 2-3 times or put it back into the PC, and eject it properly.