My first instinct was to run the game in compatibility mode since it may not be yet compatible with Windows 8/10. So I right clicked on the icon, went to  Properties and under the Compatibility tab enabled, selected the compatibility for Windows 7. I started the game again but sadly got the same error. I started searching for d3compiler_43.dll and found the file was related to Direct X. But I was under the impression Windows 8 built in the Direct X Runtime components. Anyway, I searched for the missing dll file which I could install and get it working. So first I downloaded DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010) then downloaded DirectX 11 Technology Update. Once the download was complete for  DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010), I needed to extract the files first to a folder. So I launched the downloaded file and got the following screen.

Then I was asked the location where I wanted to extract the files. Apparently, it will just extract the files – then we need to go there and install the application.

Once I extracted the files, I went to the folder location and launched the setup.exe. After the installation was complete, I started the game again. Voilà it launched successfully. So when you are doing a clean install, and planning to install games make sure you install the Direct X Runtime files before you start the game. Hope this guide helps you. Related reads:

Program can t start because d3compiler 43 dll is missing from your computer - 98Program can t start because d3compiler 43 dll is missing from your computer - 31